Ellen Kent’s Aida UK Tour

Book tickets for Ellen Kent's Aida UK Tour

Ellen Kent has announced a new spectacular interpretation of Verdi's classic opera Aida with international soloists, chorus and full orchestra.

Aida will star French Soprano Olga Perrier as Aida and Liza Kadeinik, the celebrated mezzo from the Romanian National Opera as Amneris.

Aida, the grandest of all Ellen Kent’s operas, returns  in Autumn 2016 to the UK with a stunning new traditional production, boasting an impressive new set built by Set-Up Scenery in the UK, who also build sets for the Royal Opera Covent Garden.

In Aida, the splendour of Egypt is set against the grandeur of the Coliseum of Rome with Ellen Kent’s direction influenced by the ancient Greek dramas of Euripides and symbolising the powerful religious hold of the priests of Egypt. This tragic story of war, jealousy and revenge at whose heart is the doomed love of the beautiful Ethiopian slave girl, Aida, and the Egyptian hero, Radames, is brought to life in a production set against one of the greatest pieces of music Verdi ever wrote with the well known arias “Celeste Aida”, “Ritorna Vincitor” and the great chorus piece the ‘Triumphal March’ featuring a temple dance, cascades of glittering gold and amazing fire performers.

Aida is sung in Italian with English surtitles. Running time approximately 3 hours and 13 minutes including 2 intervals.

Find out more about Ellen Kent's productions of La Boheme and Nabucco

AIDA UK TOUR

Thursday 6 October 2016
Theatre Royal Brighton

Sunday 16 October 2016
Princess Theatre Torquay

Friday 21 October 2016
Aylesbury Waterside Theatre

Friday 28 October 2016
Grand Opera House York

Saturday 29 October 2016
Sunderland Empire

Friday 25 November 2016
Richmond Theatre

Saturday 3 December 2016
Leas Cliff Hall, Folkestone

Saturday 11 February 2017
Bristol Hippodrome

Wednesday 15 February 2017
New Wimbledon Theatre

Saturday 18 February 2017
New Theatre Oxford

Wednesday 22 February 2017
New Victoria Theatre Woking

Friday 24 February 2017
Theatre Royal Brighton

Saturday 4 March 2017
New Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham

Saturday 18 March 2017
Regent Theatre, Stoke On Trent

Saturday 25 March 2017
Liverpool Empire

Saturday 1 April 2017
Edinburgh Playhouse

Friday 5 May 2017
Palace Theatre, Manchester

, ,