Dear Evan Hansen celebrates final West End performance

Olivier Award-winning Best Musical Dear Evan Hansen celebrates its final West End performance at the Noel Coward Theatre.

Dear Evan Hansen
Sam Tutty. Photo: Liz Heinrichs

The critically acclaimed, Olivier Award-winning Best New Musical Dear Evan Hansen celebrated its final London performance at the Noël Coward Theatre on 22 October 2022, three years after its West End premiere on 29 October 2019 and a year after its return to the West End after the covid shutdown (26 October 2021).

Dear Evan Hansen London
Dear Evan Hansen cast curtain call. Photo: Liz Heinrichs

Having achieved the highest-grossing individual performance at the Noel Coward Theatre and the highest-grossing weekly box office at the Noel Coward Theatre, during its run Dear Evan Hansen was honoured with three Olivier Awards for Best New Musical, Best Original Score or New Orchestrations (Music and Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Orchestration by Alex Lacamoire), and Best Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical (Sam Tutty).  In addition to the Olivier, Sam Tutty was the recipient the Critics’ Circle Theatre Award for Most Promising Newcomer, the Whastonstage Award for Best Actor in a Musical, and the Stage Debut awards for Best Performer in a Musical and Best West End Debut. Dear Evan Hansen also received four Mousetrap Awards for Best New Musical, Watch This Face (Sam Tutty), Soundtrack of My Soul, and Top Tech Design. Jack Loxton won the Whatsonstage Award for Best Supporting Actor in a Musical and Nicole Raquel Dennis, who originated the role of Alana in London, won the British Black Theatre Award for Best Supporting Female Actor in a Musical.  Earlier this month Mitchell Zhangazha won the Best Understudy/Swing in a Theatre Production Award at the Black British Theatre Awards.

Dear Evan Hansen West End
Final Curtain call Dear Evan Hansen London. Photo: Liz Heinrichs

The show’s Original Broadway Cast Recording debuted at #8 on the Billboard 200 – the highest charting debut position for an original cast album since 1961 – and went on to win the 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album and receive Gold Certification.

In 2021 the tracks Waving Through a Window and You Will Be Found were included in the top 50 of the BBC Radio 2 Greatest Songs from a Musical, voted for by the public.  Dear Evan Hansen appeared on BBC News at TenThe One ShowBBC Musicals: The Greatest Show and Big Night of Musicals, ITV’s All-Star Musicals and This Morning as well as Magic at the Musicals.

Sam Tutty
Dear Evan Hansen final Curtain call. Photo: Liz Heinrichs

The cast, who continued to the end of the run, comprised Sam Tutty in the lead role of Evan Hansen, which won him the 2020 Olivier Award for Best Actor in a Musical, Lucy Anderson (Zoe Murphy, in her Olivier-nominated performance), Doug Colling (Connor Murphy), Iona Fraser (Alana Beck), Marcus Harman(who plays Evan Hansen at certain performances), Jack Loxton(Jared Kleinman, in his Olivier-nominated performance), Rebecca McKinnis (Heidi Hansen), Lauren Ward (Cynthia Murphy, in her Olivier-nominated performance) and Rupert Young (Larry Murphy, in his Olivier-nominated performance). Completing the Company are Tricia Adele-Turner, Haydn Cox, Kristen Gaetz, Ellis Kirk, Hannah Lindsey, Samantha Mbolekwa, Mark Peachey, Hannah Qureshi, James Winter and Mitchell Zhangazha.

Produced by Tony, Grammy and Olivier Award-winner Stacey Mindich, the West End production of Dear Evan Hansen was the fourth production to open worldwide, following the critically acclaimed and Award-winning productions on Broadway and Toronto, Canada and the record-breaking North American tour.

Dear Evan Hansen features a book by Tony Award-winner Steven Levenson, a score by Grammy®, Tony® and Academy Award® winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul and direction by four-time Tony Award nominee Michael Greif.

Read our Dear Evan Hansen review here

Dear Evan Hansen features choreography by Danny Mefford, scenic design by David Korins, projection design by Peter Nigrini, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg, and hair design by David Brian Brown.  Music supervision, orchestrations and additional arrangements are by Alex Lacamoire.  Ben Cohn is the Associate Music Supervisor.  UK Casting is by Jill Green Casting,Vocal arrangements and additional arrangements are by Justin Paul. Judith Schoenfeld is the Production Supervisor. UK General Management is by Ambassador Theatre Group Productions and Global General Management is by 101 Productions, Ltd. with Adam Speers as UK Executive Producer.


Share via
Send this to a friend