Brighton Fringe announces 2017 award winners

Brighton Fringe Winners 2017
Brighton Little Theatre’s production of Urinetown

The stand-out shows and performers from this year’s Brighton Fringe have been announced in the festival’s annual awards.

Among the 24 awards presented, winners included The Brighton Little Theatre Company’s production of musical Urinetown (pictured), Ditto Theatre Company’s Ingo’s War, Broken Silence Theatre’s Bug Camp by Paul Macauley and Windmill Young Actors’ production of Steven Berkoff’s Agamemnon.

Children’s show The Tale of the Cockatrice by Mumblecrust Theatre scooped two awards – Voice’s Best Newcomer to Brighton Fringe and the International Youth Arts Festival (IYAF): Best of Brighton Fringe Children and Family Show.

Other winners include Cinebra: A History of Horror, which won £2,500 to tour to an international Fringe festival as part of the Pebble Trust International Touring Award.

Teatro Pomodoro also won the opportunity to tour abroad. The company, which was part of the Brighton Fringe Window programme for exceptional new work, has been selected to tour to two Fringes in the “Nordic network” of Bergen, Gothenburg, Reykjavik and Stockholm next year.

Full list of nominees and winners

The Argus Fringe Archangel Award
Winner: Brighton Little Theatre: Urinetown

The Brighton Fringe Visual Arts Award in Association with HOUSE and AOH
Winner: International HIV/AIDS Alliance: Love a Positive Life

Nominees: North Star Printmakers Studio: Art of Printmaking Open Studio; Phoenix Brighton: Open Studios; Tim Andrews: Over The Hill

Voice’s Best Newcomer to Brighton Fringe
Winner: Mumblecrust Theatre: The Tale of Cockatrice

Nominees: Blue Devil Theatre: The Ruffian on the Stair; Susan Earl: (Non) Violent Communication; Acá Theatre: Better Together; Moonshot Games: Werewolf: Live; Kids with Beards- Fandango!

New Writing South’s Best New Play Award
Winner: Paul Macauley: Bug Camp

Nominees: Richard Hearn; The Missing Special; Helen Seymour: To Helen Back; Luke Ofield: The Writers’ Bloc; Jenna May Hobbs ReProduction

Primary Times Children’s Choice Award
Winner: Pocket Oxford Theatre Company: Macbeth

Nominees: Avva Laff Productions: Grimmest of Grimm Tales; Louis Pearl: Amazing Bubble Man; John Hinton: The Ensonglopedia of Science

ONCA Green Curtain Award
Winner: Jamal Harewood: The Privileged

Nominees: Goya Arts: The Last Honeypot; Luke Rollason: Planet Earth III

The Reviews Hub – Beyond the Fringe Award
Winner: Ditto Theatre Company: Ingos War

Nominees: Flugelman Productions: The Poetry We Make; Cinebra: A History of Horror; Limbik: The Forecast; MoMentum: A Motivational Mindreading Experience

Balkan/Otherplace Award
Winner: Fat Rascal (Buzz)

Nominees: Stamptown (Zach and Viggo); Igor Vrebak (Macho Macho); Fledgling Theatre Co (They Built it No One Came); Smokescreen Productions (Shell Shock)

Nordic Fringe Network Award
Winner: Teatro Pomodoro: Cabaret from the Shadows

Nominees: Octopus Soup Theatre: Network Diagnostics; Limbik: The Forecast

The Big Issue Audience Choice Award
Winner: Kids With Beards: Fandango!

Runner-up: Happenings Theatre Company: 10 Steps To Happiness

The Brighton Fringe International Touring Bursary in Association with The Pebble Trust
Winner: Cinebra: A History of Horror

Nominees: Happenings Theatre Company: 10 Steps to Happiness; TRIBE//: Still I Rise; Katrina Quinn: Individual Medley

The Fringe Review Outstanding Theatre Award
Winner: Windmill Young Actors: Agamemnon

The Bobby: Best of the Festival Award
Winner: A&E Comedy: Enter the Dragons

Nominees: Wild Productions: Mary and Me; Sparkle and Dark Theatre Company: I AM BEAST; Turtle Key Arts: Open Sky present Scorched; Pretty Villain Productions: New York Stories

Latest Comedy Award
Winner: Alice Marshall: Blood

Nominees: Viggo Venn: The Life Of Pepito; Nick Revell: The True And Amazing Adventures Of Nick Revell On Planet Earth; Louise Reay: Hard Mode; Julie Jepson: Randomonium

Latest Live Music Award
Winner: Kemptown Carnival Fundraiser featuring The Resonators

Nominees: Avery*Sunshine & Yakul; ArtsLab Netowrk: The Brexorcist; The Greys Present: Folk It; Music at Saint Michael’s: Bach’s 6 Cello Suites & Beethoven’s 5 Cello Sonatas & Variations

Radio Reverb Out in Brighton LGBTQ Brighton Fringe Award
Winner: Harry Clayton-Wright: Sex Education

Nominees: Paul Diello Music: Epicene; Joe Black: Meet Me at The Eldorardo; Cinebra: A History of Horror; Jessica McKerlie: Gender Spanner

The First and Foremost Entertainment Cabaret Award
Winner: Christopher Green: Tina C’s President-C

Nominees: Scottish Comedy Agency: Oh My Dad! Christ on a Bike; The Sundaes: Diva Las Vegas; La Voix’s Red Hot Globe Trot

The Space to Dance Award from Southeast Dance
Winner: Rachael Young: Out

Nominees: Sarah Blanc: My Feminist Boner; TRIBE// Still I Rise; Outset Dance: Check Out My Shirt

IYAF: Best of Brighton Fringe Comedy Award
Winner: Willis & Vere: The Starship Osiris

Nominees: Masie Adam: Living On The Edge- LIVE; Spilt Milk: Spilt Milk Presents…; Aća Theatre: Better Together; Happenings Theatre Company: 10 Steps To Happiness

IYAF: Best of Brighton Fringe Theatre Award
Winner: Put The Book Down: Mine

Nominees: Behind the Lines: Fall of Duty; Palmer Presents: Father God; Scratchworks Theatre Company: Great Train Robbery; Karen Houge: Undercover Refugee

IYAF: Best of Brighton Fringe Children and Family Show
Winner: Mumblecrust Theatre: The Tale of the Cockatrice

The Heart FM Best Brighton Fringe Venue Award
Winner: Junkyard Dogs

Runner-up: Blueman

Gemini Print: Best Design for Print
Winner: Richard Todd: Sellotape

The Spirit of the Fringe Award
Steve Jeanes, Brighton Fringe volunteer


Share via
Send this to a friend