BEAM2020 to showcase 41 new British musicals

The line-up has been announced for the upcoming BEAM2020 showcase which will present 41 new British musicals that are in development.


Bringing together key industry figures and talent, the event on 26 and 27 March at Royal & Derngate in Northampton has been organised in partnership with the theatre by Mercury Musical Developments and Musical Theatre Network.

Each musical will be presented in a slot of 25 or 10 minutes. BEAM will also include masterclasses, networking opportunities, panel discussions and a public-facing showcase in association with Adam Lenson Productions’ Signal concert series on the evening of 26 March.

The new musicals being showcased include Gin Craze with book and lyrics by leading playwright April de Angelis, The Rush by Peter Rowe and Ben Goddard who have created the new UK tour of Once, Edinburgh Fringe hit You and I, and Southbound by Katie Mulgrew and Vikki Stone as well as a selection of musicals being developed by Perfect Pitch.

BEAM will contribute to three years of developing new musical theatre by a consortium led by Royal & Derngate, funded by an Ambition for Excellence grant from Arts Council England. You can book tickets for BEAM2020 at or by ringing 01604 624811.

Miranda Cromwell, Nigel Planer and Vikki Stone

The following new British musicals will receive a 25-minute showcase at BEAM2020:

Black Power Desk by Urielle Klein-Mekong (writer/composer) and Richard Melkonian (co-composer/musical director). Produced by Steph Weller and directed by Miranda Cromwell.

Fat Boy Swim by Catherine Forde (writer) and Michael John McCarthy (composer), also known as Visible Fictions. Produced by Laura Penny and directed by Dougie Irvine.

Gin Craze by April de Angelis (book/lyrics) and Lucy Rivers (music/lyrics).

On Hostile Ground by Darren Clark (lyricist), Michael Henry (composer/lyricist) and Juliet Gilkes Romero (book writer). Directed by Charlie Westenra, with dramaturgy by Charlie Westenra.

Perfect Pitch Musicals will also present an array of new British musicals in its 25-minute showcase, produced by Andy Barnes and Wendy Barnes.

You and I by Cordelia O’Driscoll (composer/lyricist/musical director) and Tom Williams (book). Produced by Jack Robertson and directed by Elin Schofield.

The following will receive a 10-minute showcase:

Akhenaten by Tom Brennan (director/writer), Tom Crosley-Thorne (composer/writer) and Jack Drewry (musical director/writer).

The Art of Skipping by Eleanor Griffiths (composer/lyricist).

The Blackfriars Boys by Sarah Middleton (book writer /lyricist) and Josh Sneesby (composer/lyricist).

Back in the Daytimer by Ajay Srivastav (composer/lyricist) and Sumerah Srivastava (book writer).

Bombay Superstar by Samir Bhamra (writer), directed by Samir Bhamra and produced by Phizzical

Bristol Bus Boycott by Tim Sutton (composer/lyricist) and Roy Williams (book writer/lyricist). Produced by China Plate, conceived and directed by Christopher Haydon.

Canon by Jessica Butcher (writer) and Anoushka Lucas (composer/lyricist). Directed by Jessica Edwards.

Carnation for a Song by Joseph Atkins (composer/lyricist) and Megan Cronin (writer/director). Produced by Imogen Brodie and Dan de la Motte.

Coopers Hill Cheese Rolling and Wake by Patrick Steed (composer) and Mike Stocks (book writer/lyricist).

Coven by Rebecca Brewer (writer/performer) and Daisy Chute (writer/performer).

Follow the Light by Ruth Chan (story/composer), Jonathan Man (story/dramaturg) and Simon Wu (book/lyrics).

Go Forth and Slay by Darren Clark (composer/lyricist/musical director) and Anne-Marie Piazza (book writer/actor).

A History of Paper by Oliver Emanuel (book writer/lyricist) and Gareth Williams (composer).

If I Am Real by Kate Marlais (composer) and Alex Young (writer).

An Improbable Musical, improvised by the company – a different show every time.

In These Walls by Zara Nunn (composer/lyricist).

Kempton Bunton by Luke Bateman (composer), Richy Hughes (lyricist) and Richard Voyce (book writer).

The Last Post by Henry Jenkinson (composer/lyricist) and Ellen Robertson (book writer/lyricist).

Lesbian Pirates! by Natasha Sutton Williams (writer/composer/performer). Produced by Steph Weller, with music performed by Phil Blandford.

Love Thy Fro by Stephen Adu-Ontoh  (writer), Casey Elisha (writer), Malachi Green (writer) and Enoch Ronald Nsubuga (writer).

The Phase by Meg McGrady (writer/composer) and Zoe Morris (writer/lyricist). Produced by James Leggat and Katie Wilmore, with musical direction by Jake Pople.

The Rhythmics by Poppy Burton-Morgan (writer/director) and Ben Glasstone (composer/lyricist).

The Rush by Ben Goddard (composer/musical director) and Peter Rowe (book writer/lyricist/director).

Scouts! The Musical by Sam Cochrane (book writer/lyricist/co-director/producer) and David Fallon (composer/lyricist/musical director), also known as Gigglemug Theatre.

Sister by Nishla Smith (creator/composer), arranged and musically directed by Tom Harris with visual design by Luca Shaw.

She Devil! by Hannah-Jane Fox (composer/lyricist), Andrew Holdsworth (composer/lyricist) and Nigel Planer (book writer). Produced by Rina Gill and Gary McQuinn.

Shipton by Daniel Foxx (writer), Tim Gilvin (composer) and Robyn Grant (book writer/lyricist), also known as Fat Rascal Theatre.

Shona by Neo Vilakazi (composer/writer).

Sparrow Girl by Maimuna Memon (composer/lyricist).

Southbound by Katie Mulgrew (book writer) and Vikki Stone (composer/lyricist/musical director).

Stages by Christian Czornyj (book writer/composer/lyricist). Directed by Adam Lenson.

Y Tylwyth by Gwyneth Glyn (writer) and Twm Morys (writer/composer). Directed by Angharad Lee, with dramaturgy from Angharad Lee.

Untitled by Ellie Coote (book writer) and Jack Godfrey (composer/lyricist). Produced by Vicky Graham.

The Velveteen Daughter by Jen Green (book writer/composer/lyricist) and Caroline Wigmore (book writer/composer/lyricist).

Wasters by Jim Barne (composer), Kit Buchan (book writer/lyricist) and Poppy Burton-Morgan (bookwriter/director).

Share via
Send this to a friend