Babe The Sheep Pig UK Tour

Babe, The Sheep-Pig UK Tour

Babe, The Sheep Pig returns this Christmas to the Polka Theatre, before undertaking a major UK Tour starting at the West Yorkshire Playhouse in February 2017.

Adapted from Dick King-Smith's beloved children's novel which inspired the Oscar-winning 1995 film, Babe is a heart-warming tale of friendship, bravery and adventure.

When Babe arrives at Hogget’s Farm he is taken in by the trusty sheepdog Fly, and soon discovers a talent for herding. With the help of his adopted Mum, the polite piglet soon wins over the most suspicious of sheep. But can a small pig make it in a dog’s world, and when his farmyard friends are in trouble can Babe save the day?

Olivier Award-winning playwright David Wood OBE has adapted Babe, The Sheep-Pig for the stage. David's adaptations of Goodnight Mister Tom, James and the Giant Peach, The BFG and The Tiger Who Came To Tea, have delighted families across the UK. David also wrote the book and lyrics for The Go-Between, currently starring Michael Crawford in The West End.

Some of the greatest puppetry talent in the world is being brought together for this extraordinary production. The residents of Hogget’s Farm will be brought to life by beautiful hand-crafted puppets, created by award-winning puppet designer Max Humphries (Chief Puppet Designer, Cirque de Soleil) and Dik Downey, with the ensemble cast delivering masterful puppetry by puppetry director Matthew Forbes (Associate Director in Puppetry & Movement, War Horse).

The cast of actor-musicians features Emma Barclay (You Me Bum Bum Train) as Mrs Hogget, Olivier Award-nominated Nicola Blackman (Little Shop of Horrors and The Lion King, West End) as Fly, Oliver Grant (War Horse, National Theatre) as Babe/Sheep and Ben Ingles (Romeo and Juliet, RSC) as Farmer Hogget. The cast also features Claire Greenway (Sister Act, London Palladium), Jacqui Sanchez (Shrek the Musical and Avenue Q, West End), Lucy Thomas (Bugsy Malone, Lyric Hammersmith) and Sam Wilmott (Wicked and Lord of the Rings, West End).

Babe, The Sheep Pig will be directed by Michael Fentiman and produced by Tom O'Connell Productions.

Babe, The Sheep-Pig is an adventure suitable for all ages.

BABE, THE SHEEP-PIG UK TOUR

Sunday 25 – Wednesday 28 June 2017
CHURCHILL THEATRE, Bromley
BOOK TICKETS

Thursday 6 – Sunday 9 July 2016
GRAND THEATRE, Blackpool
BOOK TICKETS

Monday 17 – Wednesday 19 July 2017
HIS MAJESTY’S THEATRE, Aberdeen
BOOK TICKETS

Friday 21 – Sunday 23 July 2017
THE ALBAN ARENA, St Albans
BOOK TICKETS

Thursday 3 – Saturday 5 August 2017
GRAND THEATRE, Swansea
BOOK TICKETS

Monday 14 – Wednesday 16 August 2017
PALACE THEATRE, Southend
BOOK TICKETS

Thursday 17 – Saturday 19 August 2017
THEATRE ROYAL, Bury St Edmunds
BOOK TICKETS

Monday 21 – Wednesday 23 August 2017
THE HAWTH, Crawley
BOOK TICKETS

Thursday 24 – Sunday 27 August 2017
WATFORD COLOSSEUM
BOOK TICKETS

Thursday 31 August – Sunday 3 September 2017
THEATRE ROYAL, Plymouth
BOOK TICKETS

Friday 8 – Sunday 10 September 2017
KING’S THEATRE, Edinburgh
BOOK TICKETS
FURTHER DATES TO BE ANNOUNCED

BABE PAST TOUR DATES

Friday 25 November 2016 – Sunday 5 February 2017
POLKA THEATRE, London

Wednesday 15 – Saturday 18 February 2017
WEST YORKSHIRE PLAYHOUSE, Leeds

Monday 20 – Tuesday 21 February 2017
THEATRE BY THE LAKE, Keswick

Thursday 23 – Sunday 26 February 2017
DEVONSHIRE PARK THEATRE, Eastbourne

Friday 3 – Sunday 5 March 2017
THEATRE ROYAL, Margate

Monday 13 – Wednesday 15 March 2017
HALL FOR CORNWALL, Truro

Tuesday 21 – Wednesday 22 March 2017
WYCOMBE SWAN, High Wycombe

Friday 24 – Sunday 26 March 2017
CONNAUGHT THEATRE, Worthing

Saturday 8 – Sunday 9 April 2017
THE PAVILION, Bournemouth

Tuesday 11 – Saturday 15 April 2017
THE LOWRY, Salford

Sunday 16 – Monday 17 April 2017
THEATRE ROYAL, Norwich

Saturday 22 – Sunday 23 April 2017
NORTHCOTT THEATRE, Exeter

Saturday 29 – Sunday 30 April 2017
WYVERN THEATRE, Swindon

Wednesday 17 – Friday 19 May 2017
VENUE CYMRU, Llandudno

Saturday 20 – Sunday 21 May 2017
EMBASSY THEATRE, Skegness

Thursday 25 – Sunday 28 May 2017
ORCHARD THEATRE, Dartford

Tuesday 30 May – Sunday 4 June 2017
NUFFIELD THEATRE, Southampton

Monday 12 – Wednesday 14 June 2017
THEATRE ROYAL, Newcastle

, , ,