Arthur Miller’s The Crucible UK Tour

Book tickets for Arthur Miller's The Crucible UK Tour

Arthur Miller's classic drama The Crucible will tour the UK and Luxembourg in 2017 in a new production by Sell A Door Theatre Company and The Queen's Theatre Hornchurch in association with Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg. The tour will start on Friday 17th February 2017 at the Queen's Theatre Hornchurch.

The Crucible will star Charlie Condou (Coronation Street), as the witch-hunter, Reverend Hale. Directed by the Queen's Theatre's Artistic Director Douglas Rintoul, this production of The Crucible will take a Brechtian look at this violent story of frail reason in the face of hysteria.

One of the twentieth century’s landmark plays, Arthur Miller’s The Crucible stands as both a historical record and a political parable for our times. The unrelenting witchhunt and violence, an allegory of the brutal McCarthyism of American politics in the 1950’s, resonates with an unnerving clarity now in a post-Brexit UK where violent mob mentality and race-driven hate crimes are on the rise.

David Hutchinson, Artistic Director of Sell a Door Theatre Company said today: “The Crucible was the first production I ever witnessed on stage, and resonates today as it did when it first met an audience as a fundamentally important piece of American theatre that calls into question our highest beliefs and morals. After our summer and autumn season of high-flying musicals, it’s a chilling, powerful play that is punching off our 2017 season of work”

THE CRUCIBLE UK TOUR

Friday 17th February – Saturday 11th March
Queen’s Theatre, Hornchurch

Tuesday 14th March – Saturday 18th March
Orchard Theatre, Dartford

Monday 20th March – Saturday 25th March
Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham

Tuesday 28th March – Saturday 1st April
His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen

Thursday 6th April – Saturday 8th April
Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

Tuesday 11th April – Saturday 15th April
Richmond Theatre

Monday 24th April – Saturday 29th April
Brighton Theatre Royal

Monday 8th May – Saturday 13th April
Manchester Opera House

Tuesday 23rd May – Saturday 27th May
New Theatre, Cardiff

Monday 5th June- Saturday 10th June
New Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham

Monday 12th June – Saturday 17th June
Theatre Royal, Glasgow

, , , ,